How Do I Become a Circuit Referee?
Kickball365 offers a registration system to allow anyone who is interested to register to become an official Kickball365 Referee. When Kickball365 hosts a Circuit Event in your area we will contact you for your availability.
How do I take the Official Exam to become certified?
In order to be considered for a Head Referee position, the referee must pass the certification exam. You can take the exam at any time throughout the year. After registering as a Circuit Referee the Rules Committee will contact you if you are required to take the exam.
Does the Circuit Rule Book change every year?
It depends. Each year in the Fall, Kickball365 holds its annual Summit. At the Summit, referees are invited for an overall evaluation of the rule book. At the same time, the year Circuit Players and Franchise Owners are invited for feedback. We ask that all individuals submit their feedback to or clarification proposals to the Circuit Rules Committee. Feedback is accepted through the Circuit Event surveys and through the Forum.
Can my league use the Circuit Rule Book on its own?
Yes! You do not need to ask Kickball365 for permission to use its Rule Book. However, we do ask that you inform us of your event by adding it to our Event Calendar. print out copies of the Rule Book, which can be found here. Please be sure to read The Circuit F.A.Q. to ensure you’re involved in the National Tour for cash prizes and more.
Are Circuit Referees paid at Circuit Events?
Yes. At each Circuit Event all Head Referee (HRs) and Line Referees (LRs) are paid a determined amount for each game they complete. Additionally, HRs and LRs typically are provided multiple perks in addition to their pay – for example, free event into social events.
Typical Team’s Question on Game Day
(1) Is there an infield fly rule?
(2) Are fouls strikes?
NO. Strikes and fouls are separate. Fouls don’t become strikes. 3 strikes = out. 3 fouls = out.
(3) I double-kicked the ball or kicked outside the kicking box. That’s a dead-ball foul, right?
NO. If the ball is caught, it’s an out, and runners can tag up.
(4) Am I really out if I pick up the ball?
NO. Let the catcher and backstop do their jobs.
(5) Where do I have to kick again?
- Within the kicking box
- Plant (non-kicking) foot at or behind the plate. (The kicking foot can be ahead of the plate.)
(6) The pitcher didn’t roll the ball right over the plate! If it was too high when I sAren’t these balls?
NO. Imagine a distance of 1 ball (and change) in every direction/dimension out from home plate: 1’ to each side of, and including the plate and 1’ high from the bottom of the ball, as the ball goes through or to the strike zone.
(7) Where am I supposed to pitch?
Behind or no more than 1’ to either side of the pitching strip. Pitchers cannot follow through ahead of the strip.
(8) As a third basemen or pitcher, after the kickball is pitched can’t we just cheat all the way into the infield?
NO. You should draw an imaginary line between 1st base and 3rd base. Everyone (including the pitcher) must stay behind that line until the player kicks the pitched kickball.
(9) I can peg the runner, right?
YES. Pegging is allowed: You can hit the runner the ball while off base, except above the shoulders. (This doesn’t apply to sliding or otherwise ducking runners.
(10) What about overthrows?
One base on an overthrow (an attempted play towards a player or base that goes into foul territory. It’s one base beyond the one to which the runner was headed at the time of the overthrow. The base is NOT automatic.
(11) Do I have to alternate men and women in a certain order?
(12) Do we get courtesy runners?
NO. Only if the kicker is injured while traveling to the base may s/he be replaced with a pinch runner. The kicker may return to the game if s/he recovers.
If a player is already injured, s/he shouldn’t play. If a player is pulled from a game due to injury 3 times during a Circuit Event, s/he may no longer play that day.
For more information or to submit a question, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org